Pleasant View House 1908
Ocean Point Inn History
Founded in 1898 by Capt. Edward Burnham, the Inn started with 20 rooms
and 40 a seat dining room. The Main House and Annex (today’s Inn and
Lodge) offered “rooms with electric lights and access to public
bathrooms”. For a number of years the Main House itself was the Ocean
Point General Store and Post Office. Guests would journey to Ocean Point
by steamship, by train from Wiscasset, by taxi or motor car over log
When the R.W. Burnham family ran the Inn, it was known as the "Pleasant View House" (pictured above 1908).
1946 Capt. Warren and Mrs. Mattie Barnes of Winchester, MA discovered Ocean Point while sailing the Maine coast, captivated like many of the summer residents and guests by the property’s spectacular and charming scenery. Nowhere on the coast had they seen such a dramatic open ocean setting with the view of spruce clad islands, the rugged rocky coastline, and the brilliant sunsets of this new western exposure. They renamed the resort "The Ocean Point Inn." Embarking on this new experience as proprietors, they hoped to expand the property and offer its charm to more people. However, the Barnes’ were ever mindful of what first caught their imagination – the inspirational ocean view and unspoiled natural scenery. Accordingly they weaved their Inn into the fabric of this peaceful, seaside environment and Boothbay's historic fishing and ship building region.
The Barne's initial operation included the Main House, the Annex, and a restaurant serving three meals per day. Since people came for long stays in those days, it was customary to offer American plan rates including all meals and accommodations. During the 1950’s they made major improvements to the property. The old Annex was renovated into the Lodge with the addition of large wrap-around porches and full private bathrooms. More cottages were built, and the first floor of the Inn was enlarged to add dining room space, a better living room area, and a comfortable lounge. What we today call our “On the Rocks” dining room area was a wonderful living room where people would meet to socialize, play cards or just curl up with a good book by the fireplace. The center dining room, now called the “Upper and Lower Deck” was the lounge – no bar to be seen – just a room full of comfy furniture where one could enjoy a drink and ocean views.
The Barnes’s were surely hoteliers ahead of their time, and in the mid-1950’s they recognized the market request for more modern “motel style” accommodations. Thus, they purchased the Burnham farmhouse which they proceeded to renovate into colonial style guest rooms. The Farmhouse Motel section of the property was completed in 1964 and run as almost a separate operation. Their guests were served continental breakfast by lovely employees such as Ruth Habblitz and Flossie Turner who could entertain and inform as well as serve.
During the 1970’s and 1980’s guests staying a month or the entire season gave way to shorter term and busier sight-seeing vacationers. The new vacationer had different needs and once again the Inn adapted. To that end, rooms were enlarged and picture windows, porches, balconies, larger beds, and televisions were added. It was at this time that our wonderful outdoor heated pool was built. To date it still remains the largest hotel outdoor pool in the Boothbay region. Even the restaurant dining rooms were moved to the front of the Inn to enhance that wonderful seaside/sunset dining experience. But through it all the desire of our guests never changed – guests continued to visit for the exceptional ocean view, our non-commercial setting, and hospitality and friendliness so characteristic of the Inn and summers on the Point.
In 1985 Warren and Mattie Barnes handed over the ownership of the Inn to long time employees David Dudley, Mark Sweetland, and Tony Krason. Filled with the same spirit that captivated the Barnes’ many years earlier, we have continued the tradition of adapting the property to the times and our guest's ever-changing needs while preserving nature’s gift, this precious Ocean Point.
In 2010 the Inn started being marketed as the "Ocean Point Inn and Resort," but to many it will always just be "The Ocean Point Inn."